Hi everyone! Some images within this blog may not display correctly due to the unfortunate changes Photobucket has made. Please have patience as I fix them. This may take a while, as I'll have to go through each post 1 by 1. Thank you for understanding!

Recent Reviews...

Tuesday, August 6, 2013

Book Review: The Deepest Night by Shana Abe




Genre: Young Adult (Paranormal/Fantasy Romance)
Expected publication: August 13, 2013
Publisher: Bantam

The Blurb:
A rich portrait of post-Victorian England, The Deepest Night seamlessly blends thrilling romance with riveting history and adventure—perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Lauren Kate.

It’s 1915, and sixteen-year-old Lora Jones is finishing up her first year as a charity student at Iverson, a prestigious, gothic boarding school on England’s southern coast. While she’s always felt different from everyone around her, now she finally knows why: She is a drákon, a rare, enchanted being with astonishing magical abilities.

As war hits Britain’s shores, and Lora reels from an unimaginable loss, she finds that her powers come with grave and dangerous responsibilities. At the request of Armand Louis, the darkly mysterious boy whose father owns Iverson, Lora will spend her summer at his lavish estate. To help the war effort—and to keep Lora by his side—Armand turns his home into a military hospital, where Lora will serve as a nurse. For Armand is inescapably drawn to her—bound to her by heart-deep secrets and a supernatural connection that runs thicker than blood.

Yet while Lora tries to sort out her own feelings toward Armand, fate offers an unexpected surprise. Lora discovers there is another drákon, a prisoner of war being held in Germany. And that only she, with her newly honed Gifts, will be able to rescue him.

With Armand, Lora will cross enemy lines on an incredible mission—one that could bond her to Armand forever, or irrevocably tear them apart.

Beautifully written, deeply romantic, and filled with daring adventure and magic, The Deepest Night is a mesmerizing novel of the enduring pull of destiny, and the eternal strength of love.

My Review:
The Deepest Night is the sequel to The Sweetest Dark by Shana Abe. While I wasn't as enamored with this one as I was with the first book, it was still pretty darn good. In fact, this is fast becoming one of my favorite series. Lora is still learning how to use her new gifts and function as a Drakon. I enjoy watching her grow more and more into her character. Armand really grew on me through this book. He feels everything so deeply and passionately. I really felt for him. I love where this story seems to be going. I only hope that we aren't building up to another love triangle. WWI is still going on around this story, so you get glimpses into the effects of the war on the soldiers, civilians, and every day life at this time. I want to know more about Drakons, and why there are so few left. I'm anxious for more books in this series! The author is truly gifted in her story telling abilities. She draws you in so much that you feel like you are a part of this world. This is what I would call a versatile read in that there is so much going on and so much that would appeal to a wide variety of readers. I'm ready for the next book. Pre-Order Now!!

Check out my review of Book One, The Sweetest Dark by Shana Abe!!

The ARC of The Deepest Night by Shana Abe was provided to me by the publisher through Net Galley for review. The opinions are my own.

author
About the Author:
Shana Abé was born in Texas. She spent much of her childhood living in Colorado, with a brief stint in Mexico as a foreign exchange student, and, at age seventeen, lived in Japan as a model. Throughout her childhood, Abé wrote, completing what she calls "The Silliest Romance Novel Ever" during her free time during modeling shoots. Her writing focused on romance, as those were the types of books that she most enjoyed reading.[1] She later attended college in Los Angeles, graduating with a degree in drama.

Her second novel, also a contemporary romance, took third place in a writing contest. She sent the book to several prospective agents, many of which responded with questions similar to "Nice voice — but what line are you writing for?" Unwilling to try to fit her writing into some of the rules that governed contemporary romances, Abé chose to concentrate on historical romances. For her first attempt at a historical romance, the newlywed Abé chose to tell the story of her own romance with her husband, set in medieval times. The manuscript was purchased by Bantam Books and published as A Rose in Winter.

Many of Abé's subsequent novels have also been set in the medieval time period. Abé chose the time period because of its "great sense of dichotomy....It inspires thoughts of grandeur, of courtly grace and chivalrous knights — but at the same time there's a gritty, raw aspect to the period that just cannot be denied."

Abé has received the Romantic Times Career Achievement Award, and has been nominated six times for Romantic Times Reviewer's Choice Awards, winning twice

To learn more about Shana Abe, visit her website. You can also find the author on Twitter & Facebook.

No comments :

Post a Comment

Thank your for stopping by. Please comment! I'd love to hear from you!