Hi everyone! Some images within this blog may not display correctly due to the unfortunate changes Photobucket has made. Please have patience as I fix them. This may take a while, as I'll have to go through each post 1 by 1. Thank you for understanding!

Recent Reviews...

Thursday, November 16, 2017

Book Review: Defiance by C.J. Redwine




Defiance (Defiance #1) by C.J. Redwine
Genre: Young Adult (Fantasy)
Date Published: August 28, 2012
Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Defiance by C. J. Redwine is rich postapocalyptic YA fantasy perfect for fans of Graceling and Tamora Pierce.

While the other girls in the walled city-state of Baalboden learn to sew and dance, Rachel Adams learns to track and hunt. While they bend like reeds to the will of their male Protectors, she uses hers for sparring practice.

When Rachel's father fails to return from a courier mission and is declared dead, the city's brutal Commander assigns Rachel a new Protector: her father's apprentice, Logan—the boy she declared her love to and who turned her down two years before. Left with nothing but fierce belief in her father's survival, Rachel decides to escape and find him herself.

As Rachel and Logan battle their way through the Wasteland, stalked by a monster that can't be killed and an army of assassins out for blood, they discover romance, heartbreak, and a truth that will incite a war decades in the making.


Defiance is the first book in the Defiance series by C.J. Redwine. I loved Rachel's character in the beginning, but as time went on, her independent, strong personality contradicted itself. I know we all have those days, right? So, I'll excuse her. I won't excuse Logan though. I gave him a few chances, but the final straw for me was the following moment:
"Feel better?" Rachel asks, and I punch the wall again just to keep from letting my anger loose on her. Not that she doesn't deserve some of it. 
No. Just no.

The beginning of this book grabbed my attention. It gave me a great first impression. As time went on though, there was a lot of action, but not really anything was happening. I hope that makes sense, because it's the best way I can explain it. No plot progression. I mean yes, they ventured out in search of Rachel's father, and most of the action revolved around getting there and back. I didn't learn much about the world of the the characters or why they were the way they were. How did their society become so Misogynistic? Is this in the past or future? Is the Cursed One some kind of giant serpent? I know it has scales, but what the heck is it? Where did it come from? Is there any kind of plan whatsoever??? I didn't see one. I had so any questions while I read, but I never got answers. With all that being said, the action kept my attention. There was hardly a dull moment.




author
C.J. Redwine loves fairy tales, Harry Potter, and any movie starring Johnny Depp. She is the author of the Defiance trilogy, a post-apocalyptic fantasy from Balzer + Bray. C.J. lives in Nashville with her husband and children. If the novel writing gig ever falls through, she’ll join the Avengers and wear a cape to work every day.

To learn more about C.J. Redwine and her books, visit her website.You can also find her on Goodreads, Facebook, Instagram, TumblrPinterest, and Twitter.

No comments :

Post a Comment

Thank your for stopping by. Please comment! I'd love to hear from you!