Sunday, March 1, 2015

Tour!! A Review of The Animal by Nikki Rae

Animal by Nikki Rae 
Genre: New Adult (Paranormal)
Date Published: February 28, 2015
Publisher: Self

Ava has spent her life running from the monsters that lurk in the shadows, always the prey. She finally thinks she can settle down, have a normal life, and work on not being so scared of the world around her. That is until she runs into her worst fear. 

He has finally found the potential family he has always wanted. All he has to do is make his little bird sing. Will Ava escape with her humanity intact?

The Animal is a spin off of The Sunshine Series by Nikki Rae. You don't have to read the series to fully get what's happening in this book, but if you have read the series, you get to see into the psyche of Michael a little bit. We are given the perspectives of Ava, Evan, and Michael. Ava is brought to hell and back a few times through this book. It was pretty emotional reading from her point of view as a victim with how she coped with her situation mentally and emotionally and the things she did to survive. To me, Michael was the most interesting character though. Ultimately, he wants love and family, but he doesn't know how to get it, so he tries to create it in the only ways he knows how. This can literally be torture for his victims. He knows the difference between right and wrong, but for him it doesn't feel right unless it's wrong a lot of the time. He's a sociopath, because he still feels a form of remorse for the things he does, yet his moral compass is completely out of whack. That is my take on him anyway. Having read the Sunshine series, I felt like this book really added to it by giving us a lot of Michael's back story. I see him differently now. Not that that is a good thing. He's still his own special kind of crazy, but now I know what made him that way and how he thinks.

The ARC Animal by Nikki Rae of  was kindly provided to me by the author for review. The opinions are my own.

Check out my reviews for the Sunshine Trilogy!!

Also, check out my reviews on The Donor!!

Nikki Rae is a student and writer who lives in New Jersey. When she is not writing, thinking, or reading, she is most likely hanging out with her gecko, Neil Gaiman, drawing in a quiet corner, or drinking tea by the gallon. Sunshine is her first book.

To learn more about Nikki Rae and her books, visit her blog.You can also find her on GoodreadsFacebook, and Twitter.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, February 27, 2015

Cover Reveal! The Hazards of Sleeping with a Friend by Alyssa Rose Ivy

The Hazards of Sleeping with a Friend (Hazards #5) by Alyssa Rose Ivy 
Genre: New Adult (Contemporary Romance)
Published: March 26, 2015 
Publisher: Self

Warning: Sleeping with a friend might change your life forever.

Sleeping with Kyle was never in the plans. Pretending to be his girlfriend was one thing, but letting our relationship become anything but platonic was another. The problem with mixing friendship with sex is that inevitably feelings get involved, and when that happens there's no turning back.

When Kyle's life fell apart around him, I needed to help, but doing that meant opening myself up to the most terrifying thing in the world—falling in love.

The cover is designed by Once Upon a Time Covers, and the Cover Model Photography is by K. Keeton. 

If you haven't done so already, you need to check out Alyssa Rose Ivy's books!! She's an amazing storyteller, and one of my favorite authors. While you're at it check out my reviews too!

authorAlyssa Rose Ivy is a New Adult and Young Adult author who loves to weave stories with romance and a southern setting. Although raised in the New York area, she fell in love with the South after moving to New Orleans for college. After years as a perpetual student, she turned back to her creative side and decided to write. She lives in North Carolina with her husband and two young children, and she can usually be found with a cup of coffee in her hand.

To read more about this author, visit Alyssa Rose Ivy's Blog and Website. You can also find her on GoodreadsPinterestFacebook and Twitter.
a Rafflecopter giveaway